top of page

Aliens

It looks like it's Science Fiction month in my world. After enjoying The 5th Wave and its sequel much more than I expected, I'm now starting Illuminae. I don't know if there are any aliens in that one, but I like to think about aliens so...

My husband and kids laugh at me because I will watch "Ancient Aliens" if it happens to be on TV. Do I believe anything they say on "Ancient Aliens"? Mostly no. Especially because it is the same two "scientists" who come up with all of the nutso theories (they can tie ANYTHING in history to aliens, for example). So why do I watch Ancient Aliens? For one thing, bad science is entertaining! For another thing, I DO believe in aliens, in the sense that I find it very hard to believe that in all the solar systems with all the planets in all of the universe, Earth is the only planet that contains life. What I find interesting is that in all the theories and books and movies about aliens, they are always portrayed as being much more advanced than us, which is not necessarily the case. I wonder if some day, we'll run across an alien civilization and scare the heck out of them, rather than the other way around! So, yeah, I believe in life on other planets. That's a lot easier to wrap my mind around than alternate universes or other dimensions. And I never get anything but completely confused when I try to think about time travel. Don't even go there with me. (For a good book on that subject, try reading The Time Traveler's Wife.


Featured Review
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page